Everyone Thinks of Changing the World, But No One Thinks of Changing Himself

-Leo Tolstoy

Today is day 1.

Today is the day I am supposed to begin the change to be better. A better mother, a better wife, a better member of society. I’ve picked two areas to focus on; weight loss and smoking. Doing these two things hand in hand might seem crazy, but it made sense to me to replace my bad habit (smoking) with a good one (exercise). I don’t expect perfection. I don’t even expect fast results, but I do expect to start somewhere, and that somewhere for me is here. So here’s my starting point information.

I was smoking about 1.5 packs a day.

I weighed in at 257 pounds this morning. 55 gained from my big loss a couple years back. That’s almost all of it.

Quitting smoking isn’t easy by any means, but my method is. The method I have chosen is cold turkey. I have support in my husband Garen who is also quitting cold turkey. I might slip up, I might not. If I do, I’ll just continue on as if I hadn’t slipped.

Weight loss will be done in steps. With the holidays right around the corner I don’t want to push myself to go on a huge diet. I know this will lead to failure on my part, and then discouragement. I am skipping any major dieting until after the holidays. Instead, I want to build a routine of going to the gym.

With my health problem of having large ovarian cysts, I aimed for strength training as opposed to cardio. Building muscle helps burn fat, they say. I did some looking around and decided that my local Curves was my best option. They have a circuit, support, and motivation that I would need in order to be successful in having a workout routine.

I will start with getting used to working out, add the diet in later, and quit smoking all at the same time. Is it a lot to do? Yes. But I’m holding myself accountable by writing about it. I will have setbacks, I will have success, and I will share it here. 257 lbs to start, 150lbs goal. That’s 107 lbs to lose. And a whole lot of smoking as well. Wish me luck!

Andrea

2 thoughts on “Everyone Thinks of Changing the World, But No One Thinks of Changing Himself

  1. You have to start somewhere – and it sounds like you are ready to make it happen. Good luck on your journey, and remember to celebrate the small achievements along the way to your ultimate goal – it will keep you motivated and excited along the way.

Leave a Reply

