A Rose By Any Other Name…

2nd day in, and I’m already behind. I blame work… or sheer laziness.

Day 2: Meaning behind your blog name

This one is actually pretty easy. I’ve blogged before… and each time I do I spend countless hours stewing over what I want to call the blog. I often lean towards generic names and try to be creative with a thesaurus because there are already over 10 million blogs out there. Previously I’ve titled my blogs as such:

  • Chronic_Lust – A livejournal started way way back when I was 18.
  • AltohoicMom – The first go at serious blogging about World of Warcraft. I originally thought I’d like to blog personally as well on the same site, but eventually dropped the idea.
  • AltoholicsRUs – The second go at WoW blogging, which proved to be far more successful than the first. I dropped the personal side, and I became self hosted… and then I got hacked.
  • Love @ Home – While doing Altoholics I made this blog for personal blogging which I attempted to share with my hubby, it didn’t stick, so I let it go.
  • Misery Loves Company – Attempt to get deep down and personal… ended up feeling entirely TOO personal.
  • Misplaced Sanity – Same as above, I was going to collect all the posts and start over, but ended up being afraid of posting the personal stuff.
  • The One With Reality – Named in the style of the “Friends” series…. “The One With…” I started this one, but in the end didn’t like the name. I also wanted to try out blogger, which I didn’t find all that awesome either…

Which of course leads us to now. When I made this blog I didn’t have a clear intention of what I wanted to write about… I just wanted to write. And since my personality is one full of flaws which include a serious lack in an ability to make a decision, and also the lack of sticking to what I start, I figured a vague title which allowed me to go in any direction was desired. Often times when I’m asked how I’m doing and what have I been up to, I’ll reply with “Oh ya know, just this, that, and stuff”. I decided “such” sounded better than “stuff” and thus, the title was born.

Of course I could have called it “Who Knows What You’ll Find Here” and it’d likely be just as popular. So there you have it… the story behind the name.

Until next time,

Andrea

Leave a Reply

