I’ve Been Tagged

Dechionof the former Benameless, now Dechion’s Place, has tagged me. Blame him, not me.

Really, I think its fun to see where people where or what they were doing when this stuff came up. So here we go.
September 11 Attacks


September 11, 2001: When the first plane hit, I was on my way to school. My friend Malia had picked me up in her car (we took turns, gas was pricey at 99 cents a gallon -.-) The radio was on to our usual Pop/Rock music station when mid song it was interupted to bring us the news of the first plane. Malia understood better then I did. I didn’t even know where the world trade center was, despite being only a couple of weeks from my 17th birthday.

Once we made it to school everyone was talking about it. Some were upset because they had family there. I was on the other side of the country, near Seattle, Washington, but it was effecting us just as badly. I was in my first period class, english, when the second plane hit. We’d been allowed to have the news on in class as part of the “current events” segments of class. We watched as the second plane hit. One hour after that, we were dismissed from school.

Bremerton, the town I’d grown up in was home to Puget Sound Naval Shipyard, and also nearby Sub Base Bangor. We were told that both stations were threatened for attack, and the base employees were sent home except for those that were needed to tend to the ships, my father included. My mother didn’t seem worried, but I was scared. Things were never the same again at home or at that base. They changed the rules for being able to go on and go off the base. We knew we were going to war. Recruiters hit our school hard, it was our Senior Year. More then half my class went to war in Iraq after graduation. Some stayed, some have come home. Three have died.

Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster


January 28, 1986: In 1986 I was two years old. Too young to know or understand what was going on around me. I’d seen video later of the tradgety, and it is a very sad thing, but at the same time, while it was part of my generation, its not something I can recall for myself.

Hurricane Katrina


August 29, 2005: I was at work at the bank at the time. There was a TV always on in the lobby that I could see from my teller window. We turned off the usual elevator music and turned up the TV. As I worked through the day I watched the disaster happen. I’ve been fortunate to have always lived on the west coast. I’ve never had to deal with hurricanes. However here in Ketchikan we do have hurricane force winds and rain, we just dont call them that. I was in disbleif when they told me Garen was on recall to help clean up the mess. He never got called, but the result of the unpreparedness for the storm was mind boggling. How can you NOT be prepared for something that occurs yearly in your part of the world? Either way, its still a mess, but better prepared now.

Reagan Assassination Attempt

 

 

March 30, 1981: this happened three years prior to my birth, so as much as I’d like to bullshit my way through it, you’d know I was totally lying.


John Lennon’s Death


December 8, 1980: This one was even earlier. Four years before my birth, hell, Garen was only two months old when this happened. So its a no go here for me, too.
Kurt Cobain’s Death


ca. April 5, 1994: I was in fourthgrade when this happened. Not yet a Nirvana fan and pretty oblivious to his death. However, when I married in 2002, I went to the EMP in Seattle durning my honey moon. On display were all kinds of stuff that he’d had, including hand written lyrics, clothes, guitars and pictures. Looking at his stuff made me sad. He was a person just the same as you or I. Opinionated, had ideas, and dreams. Loved his little girl. He needed help, no one could help him though. And he died from it. I was sad in my later years not because this man was famous and touched me somehow, but because it was apparent he was losing his way, and no one helped him.

Brandon Lee’s Death

 

March 13, 1993. I saw the movie The Crow at a party when I was 15 years old. I didn’t know the story until then. While unusual, this one didn’t seem so tragic to me. It was an accident and that sucks, but because of how old it was I guess and the minorness of the loss, it didn’t bother me. I was bothered by the deaths of Lisa “Left Eye” Lopez of TLC, and of Ahliya because they were young, and both died in accidents that weren’t any cause of their own. I was old enough to remember them personally though and I think it made the difference.

Tagbacks

Big Bear Butt

Big Red Kitty

Gnomeageddon

Larissa

6 thoughts on “I’ve Been Tagged

  1. Pingback: Failure « Armaggedon’s coming

  2. Sept 11, 2001 – putting on my shoes getting ready for work watching the news as I saw the 2nd plane hit.

    Space Shuttle Challenger – I was 12. Memory is a little fuzzy, but I think I was in school watching it.

    Hurricane Katrina – probably at work, didn’t know until I saw the news that evening.

    Reagan Assassination Attempt – I was 7. Think I was in school. Remember coming home and mom saying someone shot the President.

    John Lennon’s Death – who? lol

    Kurt Cobain’s Death – in college. First thought, “it figures”.

    Brandon Lee’s Death – in college, had a friend that was a huge fan of the comic book The Crow. After hearing about his death, we made sure we went to the movie as soon as it was out.

Leave a Reply

